How Anxiety Influences Your Health (infographic)

Infographic by Alissa Scheller for The Huffington Post. When the body first suffers from anxiety, you may experience… Throat troubles. That croaky, squeaky voice that seems to have possessed your vocal chords is your immediate reaction to a stressful situation. When anxious feelings creep in, fluids are diverted to more essential locations in the body , causing spasms in the throat muscles. This results in tightness, making it dry and difficult to swallow. Liver reactions.
For the original version, visit http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/05/20/your-body-on-anxiety_n_5352548.html

Patient Comments: Anxiety – Attack Experience – Viewers Share Their Medical Experiences – MedicineNet

I have a number of symptoms. I feel as if my family doesn’t understand, I feel alone. They tell me it’s all in my head. I have had attacks at school, when I have been out with friends and at work. I physically get extremely sick and yet they still tell me it’s all in my head. Hopefully I can get the help and medication needed so I can lead what normal life I have. Was this comment helpful? They have saved my life.
Source: Patient Comments: Anxiety – Attack Experience – Viewers Share Their Medical Experiences – MedicineNet

Kieren Perkins: ‘A panic attack nearly cost me gold medal glory in 1500m at the Atlanta Olympics’ |
News.com.au

“And you know that was when the real panic set in, because I realised of course I was in the final, I was in lane eight and I was going to have to back up tomorrow and face the world and stand on the blocks and swim, when clearly I wasn’t ready, I wasn’t good enough.” The 40-year-old said he was flooded by self-doubt – a feeling he wasn’t used to – and believed he would lose support if he failed. He was known in swimming circles as ‘King Kieren’ for his incredible ability to contain and overcome his nerves. “I started to sort of mentally go off on this ridiculous tangent about how my life was going to forever alter because if I didn’t win this swimming race the sponsors will be gone, the income will be gone,” he said. “[Swim coach] Mr Carew won’t talk to me because he’ll be so disappointed in what I’ve delivered. My God, if I don’t win this swimming race, my family won’t love me anymore.” Victory … Kieren Perkins has revealed a panic attack nearly led him to abandon an Olympic gold-medal-winning race that has become iconic in Aussie sport. Perkins has been an exemplar among the few Australian swimmers in recent history to manage the difficult transition from sporting idol to relative anonymity.
For the original version, visit http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/celebrity-life/kieren-perkins-grant-hackett/story-fn907478-1226922180041

Leave a Reply

